busywords

The literary life of EDWARD JAMES, author,reviewer, occasional poet and former pension adviser to the government of Kyrgyzstan

CHANGING PLACES

ImageSeveral  people who heard the broadcast of my story The Red Car asked if this was the only time I was an evacuee during the war.  In fact this was the second time.  The first was at the beginning of the war, before I was old enough to remember it, and the third was in the last year of the war, 1944-5.

This was the most vividly remembered year of my childhood and I have written a piece describing it.  I hesitate to call it a story, as nothing dreadful happened and it is misfortunes that make a story.  Call it a memoir.

I have never tried to have this piece published or broadcast or entered for a competition, although I did read it to my writers’ group.  However, for the sake of completeness I am adding it as a page on  this blog.

The events take place in the small town of St Helens, near Liverpool. 

The Doric Arch in the picture is the old entrance to Euston station in London

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2013 by and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

