busywords

The literary life of EDWARD JAMES, author,reviewer, occasional poet and former pension adviser to the government of Kyrgyzstan

Welcome

The Devil's Chimney on Leckhampton Hill. The 1...

The Devil’s Chimney on Leckhampton Hill. The 1985 repairs are visible at the bottom of the pillar. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve called my blog Busywords because I’ve been busy with words all my life; as a student at Oxford, a university lecturer in Birmingham,a Fulbright Scholar in the USA, a civil servant at the Dept of Work and Pensions, a Eurocrat in Brussels and an independent consultant in social security. I was a consultant for ten years after ‘retiring’ from my salaried job and the work took me to 25 countries, including Russia, Albania and Kyrgyzstan.

But this blog is about my life as a writer, not a writer of textbooks and reports but more creative stuff. Currently I’m editing two historical novels which I’ve written recently and which hopefully I will be publishing this year. I’ll give you some tasters in this blog.  I also write short stories, one of which was short listed last month for the Writers  and Artists short story prize (you’ll find it via the Writers and Artists website) plus pieces of journalism and occasional poetry.

If you live in the Cheltenham, join me at the Cheltenham Writers’ Circle.  I’m editor of the annual anthology, ‘Hillside Voices’, which we sell in aid of the Sue Ryder hospice in Leckhampton.  We’re having our AGM tomorrow and the results of our annual competition  for our silver platter.

In my next post I’ll tell you the results of the  competition and give a sample of my work.

 

One comment on “Welcome

  1. edward654
    April 15, 2013

    Thank you both

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
