busywords

The literary life of EDWARD JAMES, author,reviewer, occasional poet and former pension adviser to the government of Kyrgyzstan

The Non-Professionals

I’ve added a memoir about my time in America as a Fulbright Scholar in the 1960’s, or as I described myself in my book ‘America Against Poverty’, ‘a foreign mercenary in the War on Poverty’.  It describes my short career as a social worker and the group of young people with whom I worked.  I wrote up my experience soon after a returned to England in the now defunct journal ‘New Society’ under the title ‘Do-It-Yourself Social Work’.

The present version, on the page on this blog called THE NON-PROFESSIONALS, has more dialogue and fewer stats and is I hope more readable.  I am rescuing it from oblivion in the serious hope that some of you might be able to tell me if there was any follow-up to the ‘demonstration  program’ on which I worked.Wash Weather

The picture shows the ferry across Puget Sound from Seattle to Bremerton – surely the most beautiful journey to work in the world!

One comment on “The Non-Professionals

  1. luminouszest
    March 4, 2015

    gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2015 by and tagged , , , .
